PT 1: Blog Tour NYC Diary – Arriving in the City that Never Sleeps!


Finally I arrived back to Grimsby from ‘Blog Tour NYC’ on March 26th, my head has been in a complete blur,  I needed a few days to catch up on sleep, and take time to digest the whole ‘Blog Tour NYC’ experience.  I’ve so many exciting things to share with you all, from the latest design finds, to lots of funny stories and just the love of New York!

Massive thank you to Modenus and the Blog Tour Sponsors for making  ‘Blog Tour NYC’ MieleSamuel HeathDu Verre HardwareRotsen Furniture,MMPI (organisers of AD show 2012), Scholtes, Blanco Poggenpohl KitchensSpirit of SportsVictoria and Albert BathsJenn AirBig Ass FansModern Aire, Vitra, Axor, Wallunica, Ethan Allen   Mix Magazine.

Today’s post is Part 1 in a mini series of my diary accounts of  ‘Blog Tour NYC’ Arriving in the city that never Sleeps!

I CAN’T GET NO SLEEP!  

Monday 19th March: My tummy was churning with excitement but also with nerves. I was living on adrenaline, knowing that I was flying out to New York City to be part ‘Blog Tour NYC’  in the morning. I felt completely blogged out so I took a day off blogging, I tied up things with Dreamwall, spent time with my daughter, followed by a run and my weekly circuits class…it was nice to receive a call from fellow Blogger Andrew Dunning who help calm my nerves! But in typical Hannah fashion I left my packing right to last minute, it took 5 hours to sort my suitcase out, I was so stressed out by the time I finished packing that I just couldn’t sleep!… and that is exactly how I started Blog Tour NYC with NO SLEEP!

SHATTERED!

Tuesday 20th March

From midnight to 3am I just pottered about, I kept repacking my suit case like a bad case of OCD! Come 3am I got showered and dressed, then it was time to  hit the road from Grimsby to Manchester Airport at 4am. The motorway journey was horrendous, I was completely knackered, lorries on the M62 did not help along with road works. I eventually got to Manchester Airport at 7am.

I checked into American Airlines and waited a few hours before boarding my flight to New York. While waiting at Manchester Airport I did an over the telephone interview with my local paper ‘The Grimsby Telegraph’ The article was printed the following day… thats another story to tell in my diary! ;-)

I boarded the American Airline plane to New York City…. and off I flew!

I landed into JFK on time, but was held up in a two hour passport control queue. The London Bloggers had flown in around the same time, we had all been told by Modenus to meet each other in the Terminal so we could all travel to the Hotel together.

LOST IN JFK! 

By the time I had got through passport control, time was ticking on… I had to find my fellow Blog Tour Bloggers! My mobile phone battery was completely dead so I could’t call anybody. I looked for a person holding a clip board with my name on …. nothing! I checked the flights on the screen for Virgin London flight… nothing! OMG what do I do! Luckily some friendly chap came over and said you look lost madam… it turns out I landed in Terminal 8 and the London Bloggers had landed in Terminal 4. I got a shuttle train to Terminal 4… but no one was to be found!

Picture credit by KoenigseggCCX NYC Yellow CAB

TAKING A YELLOW CAB! 

Having no luck in finding my fellow bloggers, I decided to take a New York yellow cab to the Tryp Hotel where we were all staying! I had never been so excited to get in a yellow cab –  I must have drove my cab driver crazy with my excitement, I kept asking him a ton of questions (All in a fake American dodgy accent) I felt such a tourist – but HEY HO its not everyday I get to New York! – Did I tell you I went to NEW YORK! ;-)

ARRIVING AT THE TRYP

I arrived at the Tryp Hotel expecting to see all my fellow Blog Tour friends… but no one was to be found! But it wasn’t long until I met Marilyn Russell a fellow Blog Tour blogger who had just flown in from Florida. I hit it off straight away with Marilyn, what a great friendly gal our MARILYN is ;-) Luckily Marilyn had her mobile phone on her, so she tweeted out that I had arrived at the hotel. It turned out that my fellow London bloggers had gone on a wild goose chase around terminal 8 looking for me…. I felt so bad ;-(

The Tryp Hotel New York

THE TRYP HOTEL

It was nice to get to my hotel room and start to unpack (well sort of)! First impressions are important and I felt the Tryp Hotel did a great job, my room was modern, fresh and clean, we even had WIFI!

I was welcomed to a knock on my hotel door by staff, to receive a plate of fruit, a bottle of wine (even though I’m tee total) and a lovely welcome card. (Attention to detail) it was a lovely touch.

Nice Touches from the Tryp Hotel

Welcome Card from the Tryp Hotel

MEETING THE BLOGGERS! 

Come 5.30pm it was time to be bright eyed and bushy tailed and meet the ‘Blog Tour NYC’ at the cocktail party hosted by the Tryp Hotel. I had already met most of the bloggers at other previous design events in the UK, but I still had not met all….. When I’m nervous I go on auto pilot attention seeking loud mode and thats exactly what I did from the moment I got out the Tryp Hotel lift…… HELLO EVERYBODY I AM HERE! With my bright coloured clothes and the Irregular choice union jack hand bag borrowed from my friend Kathryn, I had arrived! ;-) Like a hurricane of energy I was in BOOM BOOM Box!

Blog Tour NYC Bloggers

The Blog tour NYC bloggers are: 

Stacey Sheppard – Stacey Sheppards Blog - Arianna Trapani - Arianna Interiors - Cecy Brooks – CECY j - Will Taylor - Bright Bazaar - David John – You Have Been Here Sometime - Emily Peck - ACHICA Living - Kelly Morisseau – Kelly’s Kitchen Sync - Marilyn Russell-Grant - Design Magnifique - Andrew Dunning – APD Interiors - Katie Treggiden – Confessions of a Design Geek - Kate Baxter – The Fabric Of My Life - Pippa Jameson – Pippa Jameson Interiors - Toma Clark Haines - The Antiques Diva  – Carole King – Dear designers 

It was great to finally meet everyone, and catch up with Veronika and Tim from Modenus  who had made all this happen. From the moment we all met, I knew that this ‘Blog Tour NYC’ family were just going to get on mighty fine. It was non stop fun and laughter from the word go!

Will, Arianna, me and Carole

Veronika and Tim from Modenus  gave our Itinerary for the week, along with a goodie bag full of gifts. (To be blogged about) after the briefing it was then time to take a short walk to Barbes Restaurant for the ‘Blog Tour NYC’ welcome dinner.

Stacey me and Emily

It was the most surreal experience walking to Barbes Restaurant feeling very tired, and excited to be finally in New York for ‘Blog Tour NYC’ the city had a different smell, the atmosphere felt electric this city really was a live wire of energy and I felt very much at home very quickly.

Andrew Dunning and Stacey Sheppard in New York

Passing the ‘Empire State’ building was incredible, New York really is a tall city, my neck was hurting by the time we got to the restaurant.

BARBES RESTAURANT

Once at Barbes, we had chance to mingle and meet some of the USA bloggers who came over to  last year’s London’s Blog Tour 2011  and get a chance to finally meet some of the  ‘Blog Tour NYC’ sponsors. Barbes is a melting pot of Parisian and Maghreb cultures and Barbes Restaurant carries that spirit. The menu choice was incredible and the food just delicious.

Tamara Matthew- Stephenson who is one of the original Blog Tour 2011 bloggers as well as being the author of NestNestNest Tamara had carefully spent time and effort, to make each table in the Barbes restaurant a beautiful flower arrangement (as shown in the picture above)- credit to NestNestNest  I was absolutley delighted to have been selected along with a few fellow blog friends, in a draw to take one of Tamara’s beautiful flower arrangements back to the hotel room. (Thank you Tamara they were very pretty and smelt so sweet)

It was great to see and chat to Vanessa Allan Marketing Manger of Samuel Heath and Blog Tour Sponsor. We were all given a Samuel Heath  goodie bag with gifts from the Kevin McCloud Accessories range  (Above picture credit to Stacey Sheppard Thank you)

After dinner, fatigue was really hitting in fast, it turns out I hadn’t slept for over 48 hours and I really was beginning to feel it….. it was soon time to get in another NYC Yellow Cab and head back to the Tryp Hotel. with Emily Peck - ACHICA Living and  Andrew Dunning – APD Interiors  to catch up on some well needed shut eye in the city that never sleeps!

Coming up ….. PT 2 Blog Tour NYC diary – Brunch at Poggenpohl KitchensBlanco all here on the Dreamwallstyle blog. Don’t miss it! 

8 responses to “PT 1: Blog Tour NYC Diary – Arriving in the City that Never Sleeps!

  1. You guys had a blast! I can tell. :)

  2. Perfect recap of the first day, Hannah! Such a pleasure to see you- oh so briefly- at Barbes & AD Home Show. Can’t wait to see your next posts!!!

  3. Great post Hannah, I am loving reading about our trip from other perspectives! We had so much fun and I am so happy I finally got to meet you in NYC!!!

    • DreamwallStyle

      Aww Thank stacey, Ive had to do this from the heart really as you know my iphone bust and all my pictures have gone so no kool snaps ;-( thanks Stacey I had so much fun with you big hugs x

  4. Awwww GirlFriend, thanks for the friendly mention on the blog. I knew we would hit off right away. This is a great recap of your first day. So glad to have met you. :)

Leave a Reply

