In Love with ‘TENT’ & Meeting Studio Pepe HeyKoop


I Heart Tent London

TENT LONDON at the Old Truman Brewery down Brick Lane www.tentlondon.co.uk 

Tent London Brick Lane

Outside Tent London

‘Like a Virgin’ this was my first time to visit TENT, I really had no idea what to expect from the multi-faceted design event taking place over the London Design Festival, especially when met by two bouncers (security) on the door.  It took me straight back to my old Skool rave days…… “Your names not down your not coming in” …. how cynical of me to think such a thing ….they were infact friendly and showed me to the entrance of TENT up the Truman Brewery Stairs………..

Up the stairs to TENT

Entering into Tent, I was over overwhelmed at the ultra cool ambiance it radiated… Having spent my early 90’s at art college a wave of nostalgia came over me, a pleasant serenity in my surroundings I really felt I belonged in this place… it was right up my street….. and that is when I fell in love with TENT!

TENT LONDON

Now in its fifth year at the Old Truman Brewery, Tent London presents over 200 international exhibitors, showing the very latest in contemporary interior products – furniture, lighting, ceramics, textiles, materials and accessories

This blog is Part 1 of many of my TENT LONDON 2011 experiences, I loved TENT so much that I feel it deserves to be featured on ‘Dreamwallstyle’ many more times… so watch this space for more TENT LONDON blogs……

MEETING PEPE HEYKOOP & THE SKIN COLLECTION

Tent Show Features: Dutch furniture designer Pepe Heykoop, so on this recommendation in the show directory and perfectly situation right next to the entrance,  off I go to introduce myself to the talented Pepe HeyKoop and find out more about ‘The Skin Collection’ that was being exhibited at TENT.

SKIN by PEPE HEYKOOP at TENT

Studio Pepe Heykoop TENT

Pepe Heykoop sidetables-lamp photo by-annemarijne-bax

The skin Collection is a reaction to the 25-30% excessive waste produced by the furniture industry. The furniture pieces used are existing, modified and covered in leather leftovers.

The Skin collection from Studio Pepe Heykoop at TENT

The Lampshades are part of a charitable initiative with Tiny Miracles foundation – a Netherlands-based organisation that focuses on building lives and changing futures of the women and children living in the red light district of the city of Miracles’ Mumbai India.

Studio Pepe Heykoop TENT London

Leather Loops Pepe HeyKoop Tent London

what a nice chap Dutch furniture designer Pepe Heykoop

For more information:

http://www.pepeheykoop.nl/

www.tinymiraclesfoundation.com

Pepe Heykoop

Scaring poor Pepe HeyKoop at TENT London - Dont worry he enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

