Losing Nemo


Today’s post is not the usual about the latest design and wallcovering, its a personal post about the loss of a pet cat called ‘Nemo’ who was tragically killed by a car this past weekend.

Nemo

If I’m honest right now as I’m typing this blog post, I’m still devastated over this past weekend’s tragic events. I’m hoping that writing this post I may feel some what better! Life really can be a bitch! OK to some its just a pet cat, but it still doesn’t help that I’m still actually heartbroken over it!

Nemo

Two years ago, I tragically lost two of my cats in a space of a week, that in itself was tragic, but this feels a whole lot worse. Maybe because of the terrible circumstances on how Nemo was suddenly killed, I don’t know. But all I do know is that I feel numb and empty its very weird I’m still trying to get my head around it all, it just came as a terrible shock!

Nemo

I had a love hate relationship with ‘Nemo’ whom was actually my boyfriends cat. When I first met ‘Nemo’ he physically attacked me, he was so territorial over my boyfriend, he actually scratched the initial ‘N’ into my hand! But from that moment on I had utter respect for him, he was ferrel and could not be tamed. Everything was on his terms, but I grew to adore his spunky independent ‘F*ck You” ways!

Nemo

He was one on his own thats for sure, I can remember having dinner with my boyfriend one evening and ‘Nemo’ jumped up on to the side unit stuck his bum on my boyfriend’s back and peed on him, it was like he was marking his territory. There are so many quirky funny stories to tell of this ‘One of his kind cat’. You could never pick him up, he just was not that sort of cat, but always wanted to be with you and that in itself was so endearing.

Nemo

He adored Tuna but it had to be in brine or he just wouldn’t touch the stuff, my boyfriend spoilt him rotten and even adopted the nickname ‘Princess’. I’ve never known a cat who adored drinking straws, it was a nightmare if you ever had a straw in your drink, he would stalk up and steal it! Nemo had a terrible habit of drinking from your cup too, he really was a little menace! But I wouldn’t have changed it for the world.

Nemo

Even though he was my boyfriend’s ‘Princess’ Nemo became a big part in my life too, I grew fond of him and my daughter loved him too. This past weekend was so unfair, but I guess ‘Nemo’ being ‘Nemo’ really did think he could take on the world, but this time the car won over the cat! it really was horrendous as you can imagine. It really hasn’t been the easiest of days thats for sure, its amazing how you can have a bond with an animal and how they really do become part of your life. Nemo will certainly be missed that’s for sure, and I’m sure right now he is in cat heaven causing havoc in typical ‘Nemo’ style. RIP Nemo you are deeply missed mate xXx

Nemo

6 responses to “Losing Nemo

  1. Sorry to hear about your loss, Nemo certainly looks like a right character. If ever you decide you want another cat you can have one of ours.

    Teresa x

  2. RIP
    I’m so sorry!

  3. Carmen Natschke

    Oh sweetie I am so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

